Wednesday, November 14, 2012

I found Babylicious Divas while looking for some shabby headbands to mix and match with Layla's Holiday dresses. Something I could easily swap in and out to match just about anything. Since shabby headbands are a very new addition to our collection I was excited at all the choices Janice and Jess had to offer. I've come across a lot of friends co-owning hair accessorie boutiques on etsy but Babylicious Divas is my first find of a Mother & Daughter Duo! 
They were both extremely generous and offered us a Tutu and matching headband to try out! They took my Daughters size and had it out super quick! The Tutu is of excellent quality! Unlike the tutus I've made over the last three years, The one from Babylisous Divas did not tangle up one bit while she wore it! The tulle (leopard print, black and brown) was cut evenly and knotted on a waffle style headband type of elastic! This one is nice and stretchy! She will easily be able to wear this for a long time! There are so many colors and styles to choose from! The tutu's are only offered in 0-3 on their etsy shop, but I'm sure if you contact them needing a larger size they can accomidate as they did for us! :)  
Also sent was a matching leopard print shabby flower on a white skinny headband! Now that my daughter is 3, she's kind of got that in between funky stage of hair. It's nice and long in the back, and long in front, but not quite on the sides and she's gotta major cow lick in front, I feel like the bigger headbands seem to slip all over the place and make everything look a little more messy. These tiny skinny headbands hold everything so perfect. There's a little grip to them unlike the slip of the waffle headbands and they get a more snug fit. Plus she's less likely to tug at them behind her ears! Very well made & we love them! There are many other styles of flower headbands and bow headbands to choose from! 

They also make  infant barefoot sandals! We never had the opportunity to use these as they weren't very easy to find when Layla was a small infant. I think barefoot sandals are super cute for newborn portraits and have fingers crossed for a little girl in the near future!! I love this shop. It's super cute! Perfect for the mini diva in your life & there is a lot to choose from! Janice and Jess are extremely quick to respond and very eager to help make your idea come to life! 
A little about this Mama Daughter Duo! 
What got you interested in making tutus and headbands? How long have you been doing so? Well its my mom and I in business together & I Just had a baby 6 months ago... I decided to not find out what I was having (and my mom and i hoped and prayed the whole time it was a girl so we could dress her up in tutus and headbands) In the meantime my mom began experimenting with tutus and headbands and started making and buying all sorts of girl things, in hopes of her being a girl. The day came- and baby was a girl! :) Needless to say we went overboard on the accessories and cuteness and eventually people began to ask where we got the items, and told us we should sell them, We looked into etsy and began our shop while I was on maternity leave in April. We had our first sale in June!

Typically this starts as a hobby.. but it's become more for you. Is it just a hobby that provides that's just a bonus w. extra income or has it become full-time? My mom watches my daughter for me while i work full time,. She recently quit her job to take care of the baby exclusively and work on our online baby boutique. Most of my hours are put in while baby is asleep, and after my work day. My mom and I each do portions of the shop which come together full circle. So fun to work with my best friend everyday!

What is your favorite thing to craft? Probably the headbands, tutus and sandals. we love to have matching sets so babies can match every outfit and be a complete diva. There is always a new color, or style or trend, so its so fun to always experiment and come up with new ideas! A tutu or headband is always a must! :) And the best part is each item is custom made for the baby! So the size and colors, etc are an exact fit to your baby! Our products are perfect for photo shoots as we can do custom orders and our accessories typically cant be found in traditional stores! 

Where do you get your inspiration? From our little princess Emerson. She is the whole reason we started and continue this business! She has one of everything we make! ;))

Tell us a little about yourselves!!
My name is Jessica, and my moms name is Janice. Aside from being mother and daughter we are also best friends! We both love all things pink and girly, and love to make every little girl feel like a princess! My husband and I have one little girl named Emerson who is truly the inspiration behind all of this! I work full time handling marketing for a large local company and i am so fortunate to be able to have my mom watch my little girl. Janice is married & fortunate enough to be a stay at home mom with a son in 10th grade. Between life and our business, we always keep busy doing something! We feel so blessed to have our products be such an important part in so many little diva's lives! From first photo shoots, and birthdays, to pageants and recitals. We love what we do- Accessorizing the world one Diva at a time!

Janice and Jessica from BabyLicious Divas were beyond generous in their giveaway offering! TWO WINNERS will be chosen! One will win a Tutu in their size and color choice! The other winner will win a 8pack of shabby headbands in their size color choices! Lucky baby divas!! 

To enter you MUST already be a MMR subber & be atleast 18 yrs old. 
Leave a comment telling me your favorite item in the Babylicious Divas etsy shop & what you would choose if you won! ( 2 entries ) 
Add Babylicious Divas to your etsy favorites ( 1 entry ) 
"Like" Babylicious Davas on Facebook & tell them MMR sent you!
Share this giveaway on facebook once a day for an 1 extra entry each day, plus 1 entry for each person who mentions you sent them! ( Leave link! Must be active when I check!)

Giveaway will remain open for 2 weeks! 
Good luck!! 

Wednesday, October 24, 2012

Skinny Minnie Bowtique review and GIVEAWAY

This summer we started potty training our little girl & on the Pull-Ups package there was some info on how to get a phone call from Disney Princess, Cinderella. It was a very cool (recording) from Cinderella herself! Layla was so excited and talked about it for weeks. She still remembers and lights up when you remind her of it. She is now OBSESSED with Cinderella, since they are personal friends and all now! ;-)

So, when I found Skinny Minnie Bowtique on Etsy and saw the most adorable Cinderella stacked boutique bow I knew I just had  to have it for Layla!

             I spoke with Diana who co-owns the shop with her bestie, Francesca(how cool!) She was so sweet, and very quick to reply, which I love! They are also based out of Canada! I love getting mail from other countries. There's just something extra fun about knowing it crossed the border!! Even, though it was coming from Calgary, it still made it here, to NY, super fast! The packaging was perfect and not one bow was smooshed during travel! The bows were wrapped up super cute in pink tissue paper with a black tie and gift tag attached. Pictured are three bows, the Cinderella one I purchased for my Disney Princess obsessed little girl, a medium-sized layered froggy boutique bow & a small pink layered bow with pink feathers! One lucky reader will win the pink layered hairbow! :) The bows are super well made with high quality ribbon and aligator clips that were lined with no slip grips (of all the bows in our collection, I have no clue how not one has ever had a no slip grippy!) I just love that little feature! 

 Their inspiration comes from the three Daughter's Diana and Francesca have between them (Diana's little girl is 4 & Francesca's are 5 & 2!) Such fun ages. They began making hair bows for their girls for a few years then decided to open up shop. SkinnyMinnieBowtique just celebrated their one year since opening. Diana has a full-time job as a merchandiser for a marketing company, so it's still more of a hobby for her! :) 

I love this little shop. I love the way the bows are made. They are very full & not floppy! The grippys are wonderful. I might just have to find grippys for the rest of our bow collection!  They have lots of designer inspired bows such as Chanel, Ralph Lauren, Gucci,Louis Vuitton & Juicy! Also are M2M Gymboree bows, baby boy Bowties & Bow Boards

To enter the giveaway you must be a MMR follower, be atleast 18 yrs & be a US OR Canadian resident! (Not an entry)

Add Skinny Minnie Bowtique to your etsy favorites! ( 1 entry ) 
"Like" Skinny Minnie Bowtique on Facebook and thank her for the MMR Giveaway! (2 entries!) 
Go to Skinny Minnie Bowtique's Etsy shop and tell me what your favorite item is! (1 entries)
Share this giveaway on facebook & leave me the link. ( 3 entries ) ** If the status gets deleted and I cannot view it, it wont count!
Make a purchase and in the notes let her know Modern Mama sent you. Leave me the order number ( 10 entries

Giveaway will run for 2 weeks! GOOD LUCK!

Wednesday, October 17, 2012

ReilynnDesigns Review&Giveaway!!

There's something really special about ReiLynnDesigns. I came upon Karie's store on Etsy while searching for bottle-cap monogrammed hair bows. Once I got here, what I wanted from her was much different. Bottle caps bows are easy to come by, but Kanzashi Flowers are something new to me. They are so unique and pretty and Karie specializes in making them! Something even more awesome..? She totally cares about your kids.. "I use foil back rhinestones instead of Swarovski crystals because of the lead content in the crystals. Swarovski crystals are not approved for children's items and it is very important to me to comply with children's lead laws." Until I spoke with Karie, I did not know this. I always thought swarovski crystals were the better choice, because, Ohhhh I don't know, they're more expensive? I appreciate that she uses caution when making items for my child & all of her customers.

 Want to know more about these beautiful flowers? "Kanzashi flowers originated from Japan- it was an art form created to wear in Geisha's elaborate hair. In Japan it takes 5-10 years of apprenticeship to learn the art of Kanzashi. These flowers are a fun spin on that tradition.  Each petal is a one inch square piece of ribbon folded over and over again with pliers and tweezers." 

I was sent two of these. One to put in my little one's hair and review... and one for a lucky reader! See this showcase is getting more fun each day.. huh? The flowers are super cute!

 I actually won a grab bag/jar (photo to right*bottom. Also shown to right is what was in the jar*top) in an auction Karie did on her Facebook page!  Like I said before, I love when shops have fun things going on on their facebook pages! :) for $6 I got a mix of 6 bows and 1 Kanzashi flower! I love them so much! Very, very well made! Everything was on an alligator clip. Karie also did a super sweet deal in September where when you referred a friend as long as you BOTH made a purchase and mentioned eachother's names you got your entire order for 50% off! I've never seen a deal that good on Etsy! :)

 Thank you Karie! Since I don't have them yet to photograph, here is Karie's shop photo of what I ordered!  (The black/pink/white bow, The initial bow, and the rainbow Kanzashi flower clips! I cant wait to get them! :) 

I love this shop, it's just fun looking, Karie is super sweet & she's got a nice selection! Plus, I love shops that interact with their customers on facebook and do fan only coupons! All around, Great Shop and I will be back for many more accessories for my little girl! :)

Now onto the giveaway! One reader is going to win their own Kanzashi Flower Clip!

To Enter You must be a MMR follower, be 18 yrs or older and live in the US. (this does not count as an entry)

"Like" ReiLynn Designs Facebook page & leave a comment there telling her you entered the giveaway at MMR and thank her! :o)  (1 entry)
Visit ReiLynn Designs Etsy shop pick your favorite item, come back here and tell me what it is. (2 entries)
Add ReiLynn Designs Etsy page to your favorites (2 entries)
Share this giveaway on facebook (can be done once a day) then leave me the link to your status update! (3 entries!) 

This giveaway will run for 2 weeks and will end on Halloween!:) Trick or Treat!! 

Tuesday, October 16, 2012

Cute-E Shop Review&GIVEAWAY

 I found my way to Cute-E-Shop while searching for a Minnie Mouse hair bow to match the TuTu I made for Layla's 3rd birthday! I got to talking with Erin and she let me review the Minnie Mouse bow & will also offer one to a Lucky MMR reader!! :) 

It's beautiful. The bow was made so well, it's sure to last a long time. All ends were heat sealed so they wont fray. Believe it or not, I have PURCHASED bows before that were NOT heat sealed and they were already fraying the first day we had them!  Placed on an alligator clip (my favorite for Layla's super fine hair!) The ribbon is high quality & so was the bottle cap!! I bought (not from Cute-E-Shop) around 6 bottle caps bows for our favorite sports teams (Syracuse and Pittsburgh Penguins!) The picture on the front of the bottle cap kept falling off. I don't envision this happening with the type of caps used on our Minnie Mouse Bow! The bottle cap is also reversed. So the little picture is actually sitting on the inside. This is wonderful because it makes it more difficult for my little one to try to play with the little bubble that covers it. And just in case your were concerned, Nope, the edges on the bottle cap are not sharp! :) 

While browsing around I realized she had so much to offer! Among hair bows & headbands, Erin also makes dresses, ruffle pants,shorts & shirts (for girls and BOYS, too!) I love when you can get more than one item from the same shop! It helps build a relationship and the seller can really learn what you like and help you come up with something to fit your style that is truly unique and made just for you!    
I also love when Etsy shops have facebook pages! Even more so when they update them with their newest listings, BONUS for Facebook only sales or coupon codes! Cute-E-Shop's Facebook is pretty active and she does post giveaways! So make sure you head over and "like" the page so you don't miss out! 
Erin was such a pleasure to talk. She's so kind and it just leaps off the screen when I read her emails. That can be difficult to find & I truly appreciate that from business' big and small!  I'll definitely be a long time customer of hers!

All in all, Wonderful shop, Wonderful owner! Definitely take a moment to check it out & enter to win your very own Minnie Mouse bow from Cute-E-Shop!!!

A little bit about Erin..(Thank you for your time!!)
Here is my try at the questions:
I have been married for the past 11 years to a man that I met in college at Texas A&M. We have 3 beautiful children, and I have been blessed with being able to stay at home with them. 
I have always loved to do crafts and found so much joy in creating something new with my hands. In college, I had a job at a bow making counter in a craft store and learned the basics of bow making. I didn't start making hair bows until I had kids of my own. I started by just buying a spool of ribbon and making some hair bows for my daughter and some of my friends' little girls.
I learned how to sew right before my 3rd child (Alissa) was born and started making custom outfits and matching hair bows for her and for gifts. The more I gave, the more people told me that I should start a shop. When my daughter, Alissa was born, she had a few medical problems and ended up in the NICU for about a week. Even with insurance, we still had extra medical bills to pay. I started my shop to help pay off those bills.
With three kids and a husband that works hard so that I can be home with them, my top priority is my family. I work hard to keep my shop time for times when they are asleep...sometimes that doesn't work out, but that is what I aim to do. My older two kids, Abby and Caleb have started back at school, and I figure as Alissa gets older, I will be able to work more and more with my shop. I really love having a creative outlet and creating things for people that they will really enjoy...I guess that is why I really do love when people ask me to create custom items for them! : ) As a mother of three, I really do want to treat each customer as I would want to be treated. When you are buying something special for your little one or as a gift, I want each person to be pleased with the product and the service. I really do mean it when I say that I want people to let me know if they are disappointed...I really would want to what I could to make it right for them! : )
My inspiration comes from lots of different places...sometimes it is from a certain fabric that I see or spool of ribbon makes me think of something...sometimes it comes from my kids...what they like and what they are in to! I have also had people ask me to create custom items to coordinate with party invitations or a child's favorite colors. It is so much fun to me!
My favorite things to create are custom outfits and hair accessories. I have tried painting things and sewing larger home items or bags, but I really love children's clothes and accessories!!
Thanks for asking! : )

--Now on to the Giveaway-- 
To Enter you must be a MMR follower (this is not an entry)
Leave your name and email address so I can contact you.
Be 18 or older :)

You must "Like" Cute-E-Shop on Facebook tell her who sent you(1 entry)
Check out her Shop & tell me what your favorite item is! (1 entry)
Add her shop to your favorites on etsy (2 entries)
"like" her Etsy Shop (2 Entries) 
Share this giveaway on your wall (2 entries, can be done once a day) Leave me the permalink

This giveaway will be open for 2 weeks! Will End on October 30. 

Monday, October 15, 2012

Bunnys Bows Review&GIVEAWAY

My quest to find some really unique, "Funky Loopy," over the top style hair bows came to a hault when I discovered BunnysBows on Etsy! I made my decision to place an order for a surprise 6 pack within a few short minutes of looking at the photos and reading a couple customer reviews. Some of which said 
-"  Soooooo cute! Deb is so talented and her bows are georgous !"
-" Deb is unbelievably talented! They far exceeded my expectations! More than a bow, they are a work of art! Plan to buy many more...absolutely LOVE them! Thanks so much!"

Deb truly is something special. What a treasure to find on etsy. I put in my notes to seller a request for one of the bows in the sample photos ( the cupcake one seen above!) and also for a Christmas bow and fall themed bow. She QUICKLY replied back telling me she would be able to do so! Her turn around time is FAST, about 2-3 business days but she waited a couple extra days for a really cute fall themed ribbon to come in and then paid the extra money to get it delivered to me faster since she wanted to use that ribbon. Service and communication are top notch with Deb at bunny bows! 

Her bows arrived to me quickly! Upon opening the box I was blown away by the detail, beauty and uniqueness. My little girl was in love with them! There was so much for her to look at and talk about! Deb does not skimp on stuffing her funky loopy bows! These bad boys are jam packed with all sorts of flat backs and ostrich feathers, korker ribbon, gems & jewels and all sorts of doodads! All 7 of the bows I received are made with high quality ribbon and secured with wire & attached to a barrette style clip to be sure to last! My favorite is probably the Barbie bow! 

Deb was generous enough to offer one of my wonderful readers the chance to WIN one of her beautiful bows! A Christmas themed funky loopy bow! But before we get to that, let me please share with you the mini interview I had with her. 

What got you interested in making hairbows & how long have you been doing so?
- I have been makeing hairbows for about 3 years now. I Love to make them. I kept on seing  the same hairbows around and I thought let me spice it up! Its like art to me.
I know bow making starts as a hobby. Is it just a hobby to have a little extra income or has it become full-time?
- It started as extra money but now it has become fulltime and I love it. I love to make a hairbow from start to finish.
What is your favorite thing to craft? 
My favorite thing to craft is handmade gift tags. i Love all the colors and to Punch them out to see what i can come up with.
Where do you get your inspiration? 
My inspiration comes from colors and from when I was a child ..I just think of alll the pink and sparkly things I had growing up. I love colors, I also try to think of it as what would I liked in a hairbow when i was a child.
Tell us a little about yourself!! 
 My Name is Deb, I love the color Pink,I collect hello Kitty stuff and  I Love to Bake! Iam a person with a big love for pets. I try to help with them as much as I can in my spare time! 

Thank you Deb! I've had so much fun getting to know you. You're a wonderful friend! :)  As long as my little girl is letting me put bows in her hair, I'll be your customer!

Now... on to the giveaway! Like I said Deb generously provided a Christmas themed Funky loopy bow! It's super detailed and nice a big! Secured on a French Clip! 
 To enter- You must be a MMR follower & have an Etsy account (Free and easy to  sign up

Go to Bunnys Bows & in the lower left hand column click "Like" then leave your permalink (right after you "like" it, on your facebook wall you will see it. click the timestamp below and it will bring up a page copy and paste the url in the search box and paste it here!) Easier than it sounds! ( 1 entry- leave comment)
Go to Bunnys Bows, take a look around then come back here and tell me what your favorite item is! (1 entry- leave comment)
For additional entries (5) - place an order and leave me your order number! 
Share this giveaway however you wish (can be done once daily) Just share the link to your, status update, tweet or whatever! (3 entries!)

Giveaway will run for 2 weeks and a winner will be chosen by Good-luck! 

Wednesday, September 12, 2012

Get ready....

"Little girls are precious gifts like birds and brooks and streams...their hair is tied up with ribbons and bows...their hearts are tied up with dreams."

Layla's turning 3!! Where oh where has the time gone? I can remember writing THIS & now she's a "pre-schooler!" Whatt?!
While searching around on Pinterest for some Minnie Mouse themed ideas, the wheels got turning. I got in planning mode and started checking around on, where I usually order invitations and other doodads. I found some really cute tutu&bow sets and remembered how easy it was to make the tu-tus like I did for her first christmas (7 weeks) and her first birthday! Tutorial anyone? So I just needed a matching bow!  I found some super cute ones...among other bows. I haven't ordered any in so long and one of my favorites, Tosweetpeafromme was having a flash 40% sale. I needed just a few more & ordered from some  new sellers & got chatting with them about helping me out with a little "showcase" for little girl hair accessories!

Sooo... Get ready, get set, because there's a lot to happen next month! Just a couple of the sellers being featured and giving items away are...

BunnysBows - Etsy
Sugar and Spice Boutique -Etsy
Cute-E-Shop - Esty
ReiLynn Designs- Etsy

& moreee!

Wednesday, August 22, 2012

Expectant Mothers Parking

I so need to rant about this. It's something that really really bugs me! I can' t count the number of times I've pulled into the grocery store or shopping mall and as I'm walking past the "Expectant Mothers" parking spot, I see an elderly woman, whose well past her child bearing years climb out of the car and gracefully walk up to the entrance  Sometimes it's a teenage boy, an elderly man who are not shopping with an expectant Mom & clearing they're not expecting either!

When I was pregnant I loved this space. It was a nice little thing that grocery store and shopping plazas did just to honor us as a courtesy during our nine months. After my Daughter was born (a Winter baby,) I stopped using them unless it was clearly very icy and I was alone. Otherwise, my new favorite spot is next to the cart corral.

Some might think, well if she's got enough energy to walk around the mall, then why does she need to park so close? Well, for starters, She's pregnant! The spot was made for people like her. Just because you're an elderly person doesn't give you the right to take it. If you weren't given a handicap sticker & can't park there you are also capable then of walking. Or, maybe it's the middle of winter and while the inside of the shopping mall is dry and ice-free, the parking lot is covered in ice and slush! Maybe she's not at the mall and at the grocery store, in which case she might actually need to put food in her house and has no other choice but to be there! 

Today, I had enough of this! While I was loading two children under three in the car, I watched a man in his 60s-70s sit in not one, but BOTH "Stork Parking" spots while his wife walked into the mall, you guessed it, not pregnant!  I got into my seat, and phoned the mall just to ask what they can do to enforce such behavior. I KNOW they can't issue a ticket or call the Police and I totally get that but it's flat out rude and disrespectful to think it's owed to you just because you are elderly. Even more rude when you're a male who isn't helping your pregnant partner by parking there & only doing so because it's the closest available spot! Ugh! 

I was told by both security people at the mall how much it also aggravates them & that they wish something could be done but obviously, since you don't need a special tag to park there that they couldn't do anything but attempt to talk to the person and hope they understand (COMMON COURTESY) and move. I absolutely understood, and knew before hand they wouldn't be able to issue tickets but inside I was just hoping to witness somebody make this Man look like the fool he was being! 

Rant ended. :)

How many of you are also bothered by this? My mom is needs a handicap sticker when she goes places, that doesn't mean that just since she's going to the mall, she should be considered lazy as I read somewhere about these spots. When it comes to the handicap spots, I have been known to call people out on using them ILLEGALLY. I once watched a late teen-early 20-something  squeal his tires into the spot, park crooked and RUN in with a red-box movie in hand. I asked him if the Dr. denied his sticker for the space because he could run just fine.